The Otto A. Bird Award

Cum Musis, id est cum humanitate et doctrina

The Otto A. Bird Award, named after the founder and first director of the Program, is given each year to the student who has written the finest senior essay.

View Bird Award Recipients

The Susan Clements Scholarship

The Susan Clements Award is named for a remarkable graduate of the Program who died tragically in 1992. Endowed by the Clements family, the award is given annually to a senior woman in the Program who exemplifies Susan Clements' qualities of scholarly achievement, Industry, compassion, and service.

View Clements Scholarship Recipients

The Edward J. Cronin Award

…getting all the lovely words just right

The Edward J. Cronin Award is named after a teacher who, for many years, upheld the importance of excellent writing in the Program. It is given annually to a PLS student who, in the opinion of a committee of outside judges, has submitted the finest piece of writing in the previous year.

View Cronin Award Recipients


The Frederick Crosson Scholarship

This fund was established in memory of Professor Frederick Crosson, former director of the General Program of Liberal Studies, dean of the College of Arts & Letters, and longstanding faculty member. In honor of Prof. Crosson's dedication to teaching and care for his students, the Crosson Scholarship provides annual support to one or more PLS juniors with financial need.  

The Monteverdi Prize

As of the fall of 2013, the department will award annually the Monteverdi Prize for a current junior in the Program of Liberal Studies. This prize is underwritten by the Cioffi Family Endowment for Excellence.                                                                                                                                                       View Monteverdi Award Recipients

The Willis D. Nutting Award

And gladly wolde he learne, and gladly teche.

The Willis D. Nutting Award honors a teacher who for two decades in the General Program was devoted to the love of wisdom. The award was established in 1970, at the time of Dr. Nutting's retirement, by alumni and faculty.

View Nutting Award Recipients

The Stephen Rogers Award

The Stephen Rogers Award is given annually to a Program graduate for the purpose of graduate study. Applicants will be eligible up to five years after graduation. Proof of admission or current enrollment required. The award is not intended to support professional degrees. The award will be given on the basis of demonstrated academic excellence and potential. The award is named after a renowned teacher who, though blind, was a remarkable asset to the Program. It has been endowed by alumni who were students of Professor Rogers.

View Rogers Award Recipients